“T-storms and pinholes….”


This is our weather forecast for the day. I was lucky to find some sun at around 10 this morning and went to make this exposure of the town’s Historical Society building. Paper negatives are notoriously contrasty and the building with its overhanging porches and deep shadows presented quite a challenge. Since the sun was out, and there was loads of shade, I decided on a 90 second exposure to ensure some detail in the shadows. I figured I could deal with the highlights, and I think it worked pretty well. Those blurry things on the second floor are flags fluttering in the breeze. At one time I used to put a low contrast enlarging filter behind my 11×14 pinhole camera. I never got around to running any comparison tests, I am not that organized, to see if it lessened the contrast of the paper negatives. I know one thing for sure, it increased the exposure times.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key, cedar key photography, documentary, fl 32625, Florida, landscape, photography, pinhole, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “T-storms and pinholes….”

  1. drawandshoot says:

    Like the flags, that’s cool!
    also neat the way the street is mostly dark with dappled light, it’s nice contrast.

Leave a Reply

