“In Every Southern Town…….pinhole”


Nearly every small southern town surely has a Baptist church on its main street. This is ours. It is a block west of the commercial district. This morning there were few cars parked on our main street, and I took advantage of having a clear view of the Baptist church, to make this exposure. It was around 9:30 in the morning, and although the sun was out, it was diffused a bit by hazy clouds, and still relatively low in the sky. The church is painted white, however I gave it 90 seconds of exposure to make sure I got some detail in the lighter shadows. I am not sure why I get so many ‘artifacts’ with these paper negatives. Next time I will wipe the paper with an anti-static cloth before I develop it, and then make double sure it and the scanner glass are clean. However I think the artifacts are in the paper somehow.

I figured there are about two dozen structures or so that I want to photograph for this series. Once I have them, all making a folder book would be a neat way to make a portfolio out of this suite.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, Artist's book, black & white, book, cedar key photography, documentary, fl 32625, Florida, photography, pinhole, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “In Every Southern Town…….pinhole”

  1. nonoymanga says:

    Nice cropping and composition. Thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

  2. drawandshoot says:

    I like the enveloping bend in the street and the wires, like a protected sanctuary.

  3. Thanks Karen! Yes, I was surprised by and really like the way the power-lines bend.One thing that I see happening, because I ‘aim’ for the front door or the center of the building, the curve of the paper gives each individual structure its own curve, setting it off from its neighbors.

Leave a Reply

