“Gunfight at High Noon….pinhole”


OK, this photo has absolutely nothing to do with the title. There is no gunfight and it is not even high noon. It is just that it came to mind immediately as I looked at the positive after converting it from the pinhole paper negative. This is another one of my photos of Every Building on the North Side of 2nd Street.

It is the third of three exposures I made this morning of the Drummond Community Bank in town. I gave this one about 50 seconds of exposure. The first one I exposed for about one minute and five seconds and thought it a bit too dark [the negative]. So, I made a second one with about fifty seconds exposure. However instead of ‘transferring’ the paper negative into the paper developer, I unceremoniously dumped it into the stop bath, I guess because that tray was closest to me. I have NEVER made this mistake before, but I guess one has to make every photo mistake at least once, and there seem to be millions of them out there. The interesting thing is that the 50 second exposure looks as dark or darker ??? than the longer one. So, I scanned both of them, and I like this one best. To me it has more of that ‘high noon emptiness’ feeling than the first one, which had a pickup truck parked on the corner, right behind the stop sign, and thus filled in the empty space more.

I love the shadow along the recessed corner of the the second story of the bank building – makes the whole thing look like a cardboard cut-out.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, cedar key, cedar key photography, documentary, fl 32625, Florida, landscape, photography, pinhole, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Gunfight at High Noon….pinhole”

  1. I think the title fits it well, with the empty street and bright sunlight it doesn’t take much of a mental leap to picture two cowboys out there with gazes locked in a showdown.

  2. Awesome photograph! The name is perfect, it alludes to a story that isn’t there. I see what you mean with that shadow making the whole thing look like a set. The dichotomy is very fun.

  3. Hi Rebecca and Krislyn, thanks you so very much for taking the time to comment and your feed-back. I am glad to hear I am not totally nuts! :)

  4. drawandshoot says:

    Yes it’s like a false front, just waiting for the action to begin!
    A clever title and intriguing image Christian.

Leave a Reply

