“With Great Admiration….”


Unfortunately I don’t get to do new photos every day. As I mentioned in a previous post, I am re-working about 50 of my photos to print for an upcoming exhibit, and I just finished doing this one, which I have posted previously on several sites. Nevertheless, I have to post it again because it embodies all the things I really like about photographing people, doing portraits. It gives me a chance to express my admiration for the people I am photographing. This is of Jeanine oysterplanting. It was  a broiling hot summer day and we were out on Corrigan’s reef all day. I was only photographing, but Jeanine and her crew were doing the nonstop backbreaking labor of gathering oysters, loading them into big plastic buckets to be transported/transplanted to deeper waters. Although it may sound a bit hooky, taking photos that made them look a bit heroic, as Clay Enos would say,  was extremely rewarding.

Yashica 35mm SLR, 50mm Zeiss lens w/red filter, Neopan 1600 @ 800.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in black & white, cedar key photography, documentary, film photography, fl 32625, Florida, landscape, photography, portrait, Southern Photography, waterwomen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “With Great Admiration….”

  1. tigerclaws says:

    This shot just took my breath away!! Incredible… LOVE the grain and every aspect about it. Although I suppose if the woman was wearing less of a modern apparel, this shot would have been a timeless piece.

    Very well done once again… hope to see more!

    Ciao,
    Ali
    http://eyeofali.viewbook.com

  2. Thanks Ali – I certainly appreciate your feedback!

Leave a Reply

