“Driving to Tallahassee…”


This morning I had to drive to Tallahassee for an appointment. Although it is still January, spring like weather was spreading over northern Florida, with the temperatures expected to reach the upper 70’s, and moister air moving into the area. There was no doubt in my mind that air was moist. There was dense fog covering Cedar Key and the mainland as I started driving at seven this morning. I had my camera in my pocket and wanted to make some photos, but thought I’d be better off keeping both hands on the wheel, and watching the road. As it got later in the morning and I was on highway 19, with its four lanes of divided highway, I could not resist and took three photos of the surrealist looking fog and sky/cloud combination. I think this one is a ‘keeper’ for my 19/98 portfolio.

At first I was a bit bothered by the parts of the dash and windshield showing and also the partial trees on the right hand side, but then I realized those things were really in keeping wiht the rest of the portfolio, conveying the sense of driving on highways 19/98.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in 19/98, art, color photography, digital, documentary, Florida, Florida Highways, photography, Southern Photography, Tallahassee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

