Interesting, but


I find this part of town perhaps the most interesting area visually, with the Jiffy, the gas station, the old fish-house, and the remnants of the old bridge with its crab-traps and other clutter. Every now and then I try to make a good photograph here, and so far, it really has eluded me. I have noticed that same phenomena other place, they sure look interesting, but I am unable to translate that impression into a powerful photograph.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in Southern Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interesting, but

  1. Dave says:

    I hate it when I know it’s there, but I don’t find “the image”!

  2. Hi Chris

    Could the reason be that there’s just too much going on, so that there isn’t any real point of focus (I mean focus not in the photographic sense but in the sense of attracting and holding the viewer’s attention)? I’ve tried to overcome this by slightly softening a busy background such as this, and just having one point of interest – a shape, a figure – sharp. Then the eye goes to the sharp point but takes in the myriad goings-on behind at the same time.

  3. Hey Martyn and Dave – many thanks! Martyn, you are absolutely right, however there is that part of me that finds the ‘whole’ fascinating also, but usually my resulting images are just to ‘busy’ – there has got to be a good photo in there somewhere! :)

Leave a Reply

