Letting go of the Camera


Picking up Brooks Jensen’sLetting go of the Camera – I came across several ideas and concepts which complement some of the ideas I addressed in my post about digital and film photography. Brooks writes: As photographers, we are so often embroiled in endless debates about technique and tools. This is all a waste of time….If you are interested in photography as an expressive art, the debates over cameras or techniques have probably been boring to you for a long time. We had better get used to it – again. And, while the rest of the photographic world is debating….,perhaps we can spend the next decade making images and artifacts that rise above the bickering about how one should be a photographer.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Letting go of the Camera

  1. barbara says:

    This is exactly how I feel. If I hear much more about this camera or that, leaving little room for creative expression, I’m going to go live in a cave. With my cheap dSLR.

  2. Teresa says:

    “And, while the rest of the photographic world is debating….,perhaps we can spend the next decade making images and artifacts that rise above the bickering about how one should be a photographer.”

    Absolutely. I agree 100 %. But then I agree with most of what Brooks Jensen has to say mostly because he says what he thinks. I love his podcast “On Photography and the Creative Process” and I’ve been slowly making my way through all of them. I bought my first SLR in 1985 and my first D-SLR two months ago and though digital blows my mind it also makes me appreciate what came before. Film or digital? It doesn’t matter, I just want to take pictures.

  3. Pingback: camera » Blog Archive » Letting go of the Camera

Leave a Reply

