“Too Dark?…


20140322_5312cyprintweb2…too light?…too something or rather, that is always the question when printing. As you can see, I am still banging around with my Cyanotype projects. This one is obviously too dark/overexposed. However, is it too dark as a print? That is the question. It looks more like it was taken by moonlight – so it does not truly represent the scene as I saw it. Of course, a Cyanotype never truly represents the scene. Anyhow, I am posting it just for fun ’cause I think it is a pretty neat print. A different [more correct]version of which I have posted before.

[Thanks to my friend Captain Diana for inviting  me to come along on one of her adventure tours!]

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cyanotype, digital, digital negative, Florida, landscape, Made with Paper, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Too Dark?…

  1. muggs828 says:

    Christian,
    I actually love it the way it is here, but of course it is always a matter of personal taste.
    I have to tell you that I really dislike when people say “it does not truly represent the scene as I saw it”. As an artist, which you are, (unlike a reporter) you have the right to any interpretation that you see fit. Look at some of Ansel’s early work and how he printed the same image VERY differently later on in his career because of a changing vision and/or technique.
    OK, safely down off my soapbox.
    Muggs

  2. Hi Muggs, many thanks for your fine comment. No soap box at all! Or if it is a soap box, I am right there on it with you. That is why I am drawn to lith prints, Cyanotype, photo-polymer gravure & digital.- I love the freedom!

  3. In the end it’s about the image. I prefer excitement to a record:)

  4. Marie says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

