“Portlandia Comes To Town…”


 

20140514_5563web

…well, not quite. However I was surprised to see Glenda riding around town on a tricycle. Usually I see her shopping in her Honda Element. She owns and operates Annie’s Cafè, which is behind her in the photo. It is my favorite breakfast and lunch place in town, although I have not been eating out lately. To me, Annie’s is the only truly authentic ‘local’ place still left. If you want the feel of ‘old’ Florida, sitting on her screened porch or the un-air conditioned interior, you will get your money’s worth. I photographed Glenda many years ago, working in her kitchen. Using my manual SLR and Neopan 1600 b&w film, I had an extremely hard time getting any photos of her. When working, she moves like ‘greased lightening’ and trying to focus, meter and compose simultaneously, was a bit challenging, to say the least. Below are a couple of photos from that session.

000615-34web

000615-13web

000615-20web

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, documentary, film photography, fl 32625, Florida, photography, portrait, Southern Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Portlandia Comes To Town…”

  1. Good to see that distinctive film quality again. I used to use Tri X rated at 1600….memories:)

    • Don’t know where my previous reply went??? Cyber gremlins!!!
      Wow, those must have been quite punchy photos. I loved Tri-X too, although I know a lot of folks who hated it! – à chacun son goût!

  2. drawandshoot says:

    These do have such a nice quality, Chris. I like the movement in them too.

  3. Chris Gibbs says:

    Love the last shot, especially the moving hair!

  4. A lovely collection which show the energy of the lady

Leave a Reply

