“So, what does it matter…”


0403b-12nikaweb This is one of my favorite photos of my friend Milinda. Technically it is obviously an extremely crappy photo, made with a Holga and a little bit of flash, and still totally underexposed.  The best print I made from it was a lith print which had stains on it – but the ‘atmosphere’ seemed right. Now I am able to pull out a lot more detail with Photoshop and Nik filters. At the same time that I see more and more photography, I also see it fading off into the sunset. The uniqueness of having a good photo and fantastic print of a particular subject is vanishing, while at the same time a powerful image is still that…. It is very perplexing.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key, film photography, Florida, lith printing, photography, portrait, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “So, what does it matter…”

  1. Dave says:

    I’m thinking a good print will be very rare, while the sea of images gets deeper and they get lost in the ether if not printed

  2. Yes, and I think one of the questions is whether or not people will still be interested in prints. I do think I see a marked decline in the place of prints in our culture – and I can see why – and it is not necessarily ‘bad’ – but it IS!

Leave a Reply

